Open Positions at WILX


Technical Media Producer - Full-time

The Technical Media Producer has the general responsibility for directing live or pre-recorded productions as assigned, monitoring of WILX’s on-air streams, transmitter, FCC logs and ingesting daily programming and commercial inventory(ies). Regular assignments will involve directing specific newscasts, misc. station productions, and various elements for the web channel.


News Producer - Full time

Gray Television; dba WILX is an equal opportunity employer. Pre-employment drug screening required.


Sales Account Executive

WILX Media, a Gray Television station located in Lansing, Michigan has a rare opening for an experienced Account Executive to join our team of integrated marketing/advertising professionals. At WILX, we help businesses “find and keep their very best customers” through the use of effective marketing and advertising. If you have media sales experience and see yourself as a high-energy creative individual that likes working with people, this could be your opportunity to work better hours and make more money at the top-billing media company in mid-Michigan. The right candidate will be smart, as well as a good communicator, and know how to use creativity to solve problems, develop ad campaigns, and motivate others. You’ll be given a list of current clients, but your real job will be to develop new business to grow and maintain a full customer portfolio. We offer a paid training salary, medical/dental, 401(k), vacation and other benefits including opportunity for advancement. Our commission structure will allow you to grow without limits. And at WILX… we like to have fun! We believe that BIG IDEAS = BIG RESULTS and we develop advertising that really works. Qualifications:  Media sales experience.  Excellent writing and communication skills.  Ability to work independently and manage your time effectively.  Ability to use creativity to solve problems.  Ability to develop campaigns and motivate others.  A real desire to understand your clients and their businesses.  A thirst for ongoing learning: advertising, marketing, television, digital.  Experience selling digital products/strategies including audience targeting, social media, PPC, SEO.  Excellent knowledge of presentation software, MS Office products and CRM software.  Must meet the Gray Television driving requirements and have a valid driver’s license. Send your resume in confidence to: Paul.crockett@wilx.com Apply on LinkedIn: Apply on LinkedIn or mail to: WILX, Attn: Paul Crockett, Local Sales Manager 500 American Rd, Lansing, MI 48911 Apply online at: GRAY TV.


Photographer Part-Time

Union, Non-Exempt, Part-time WILX is a drug free work environment. All candidates must pass a drug screening prior to employment. Also, candidates must provide proof of a good driving record. General purpose of Position: To generate content for broadcasts, web channel and social media. Job Description: The Photographer's primary focus will be to shooting/editing video and general news gathering, either teamed with a reporter or solo for across various media channels. The photographer will operate microwave and TVU remote systems. Qualified individuals will be able to work well in a fast-paced, rapidly changing environment, self-motivated; flexible; extremely organized; very detail oriented; tenacious, yet tactful; strong problem solver; able to work well under pressure in order to meet deadlines and will have a positive attitude. Essential Job Duties and Responsibilities: Strong photography and non-linear editing skills Ability to operate microwave trucks and TVU boxes Ability to meet deadlines Must be able to work any hour of the day when required Must provide own transportation to work Company must be able to contact you by phone or pager Must have excellent verbal and written skills Must be able to work individually, and/or in a group setting Should show individual initiative and creativity in photography skills Other duties as assigned by News Director Qualifications: Must demonstrate solid news judgment A.A. Degree in television production or photography desired Previous newsroom experience as employee or intern Strong photography skills and ability to think creatively under constant deadline pressure Ability to operate photography and editing equipment as assigned Valid driver's license Technical Requirements: Knowledge of computers, cameras and editing equipment Physical Requirements: Must be able to lift and carry equipment weighing 50 pounds Must have regular and timely attendance and flexibility for changing operational needs. Job descriptions are subject to change at the discretion of management. Apply at: www.gray.tv/applynow


General Contact Info
Station Phone Number
517-393-0110
 
Station Fax Numbers
News 10: 517-393-9180
General Info: 517-393-8555
Community Announcements: 517-393-8555
Sales: 517-393-8555
 
Mailing Address
500 American Road
Lansing, MI 48911
 
Emails
Story Ideas: newstips@wilx.com
General Comments: comments@wilx.com
Announcements: community@wilx.com
Weather Questions: weather@wilx.com
 
Station Management
 
Debbie Petersmark
Vice President/General Manager/GSM
debbie.petersmark@wilx.com
 
Laura Kimmel
Executive Assistant
laura.kimmel@wilx.com
 
Sales/Advertising
 
Debbie Petersmark
Vice President/General Manager/GSM
debbie.petersmark@wilx.com
 
News 10
 
Barb Roethler
News Director
barb.roethler@wilx.com
 
Amy Murphy
Digital Executive Producer
amy.murphy@wilx.com
 
Tim Gillette
Assignment Manager
tim.gillette@wilx.com
 
Jeff Proctor
Executive Producer
jeff.proctor@wilx.com
 
The Weather Authority
 
Darrin Rockcole
Chief Meteorologist
darrin.rockcole@wilx.com
 
Andy Provenzano
Meteorologist
andy.provenzano@wilx.com
 
News 10 Sports
 
Tim Staudt
Sports Director
tim.staudt@wilx.com
 
Seth Wells
Sports Anchor/Reporter
seth.wells@wilx.com
 
Production
 
Steve Coon
Operations/Production Manager
steve.coon@wilx.com
 
Engineering
 
Mike Winsky
Chief Engineer
mike.winsky@wilx.com
 
Creative Services
 
Jim Showers
Creative Services Director
jim.showers@wilx.com
 

POLITICAL BROADCAST ADVERTISING:
Mike Jones
Director of National Political Sales
Gray Television – Washington, DC
desk: (202) 400-0598
mike.jones@gray.tv