Trio of Spartans Earn All-Big Ten Honors

By  | 

EAST LANSING – Three Michigan State golfers have earned All-Big Ten honors, the conference office announced on Tuesday. Allyson Geer-Park was voted to the league’s first team, while Paz Marfa Sans and Yurika Tanida were both selected to the conference’s second team.

“It’s awesome for all three players,” MSU head coach Stacy Slobodnik-Stoll said. “They’re continuing to add to their resumes and it’s a wonderful accomplishment to be recognized as one of the best players in the conference.”

It’s the third straight First Team All-Big Ten selection for Geer-Park. The junior has three top-five finishes this season, including a pair of tournament wins. She captured her first career tournament win at the season-opening Mary Fossum Invitational with a 9-under-par 207. With the help of three rounds in the 60s (67-69-67), Geer-Park tied the lowest 54-hole tournament score in program history – 203 – to take medalist honors, and help MSU to the team title, at the Briar’s Creek Invitational (March 18-19).

Geer-Park, who leads the Spartans with a 72.7 scoring average, was also one of 72 amateurs from around the world to play in the inaugural Augusta National Women’s Amateur earlier this month.

Marfa Sans had her best Big Ten Championships finish last weekend, taking fourth at the league tournament. She shot a 3-under-par 141 in the weather-shortened event, which included a 5-under-par 67, tying the second-lowest round of her career.

The native of Barcelona, Spain, started the year by taking third place at the Mary Fossum Invitational at 6-under-par 210.

Marfa Sans, who ranks second on the team in scoring average at 73.81, was also the team’s recipient of the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. The students chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the students must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

Tanida has appeared in all 10 tournaments for the Spartans this season, notching three top-10 finishes. The sophomore led the Spartans at the Mason Rudolph Championship in September by tying for ninth place. She earned the first top-five finish of her career at the UCF Challenge in February as she was 7-under-par 209, helped by the best two rounds of her career (67, 68).

The native of Kanagawa, Japan, tied for sixth place earlier this month at the Lady Buckeye Invitational and is third on the team in scoring average at 74.3.

Next up for the Spartans will be the NCAA Tournament. MSU will host one of four regionals, May 6-8, at Forest Akers West. The entire tournament field will be announced Wednesday at 5:30 p.m.

Big Ten Golfer of the Year: Stephanie Lau, Northwestern
Big Ten Freshman of the Year: Aneka Seumanutafa, Ohio State
Big Ten Coach of the Year: Renee Sloan, Illinois

Crystal Wang, Illinois
Kornkamol Sukaree, Illinois
Virunpat Olankitkunchai, Maryland
Allyson Geer-Park, Michigan State
Stephanie Lau, Northwestern
Brooke Riley, Northwestern
Kelly Sim, Northwestern
Aneka Seumanutafa, Ohio State

Tristyn Nowlin, Illinois
Bing Singhsumalee, Illinois
Paz Marfa, Michigan State
Yurika Tanida, Michigan State
Janet Mao, Northwestern
Danielle DuToit, Purdue
Melati Putri, Purdue
Inez Wanamarta, Purdue

Bing Singhsumalee, Illinois
Angela Aung, Indiana
Brett Permann, Iowa
Laura Van Respaille, Maryland
Hannah Ghelfi, Michigan
Paz Marfa Sans, Michigan State
Kate Lillie, Minnesota
Hannah Thiele, Nebraska
Stephanie Lau, Northwestern
Niki Schroeder, Ohio State
Jackie Rogowicz, Penn State
Melati Putri, Purdue
Harriet Allsebrook, Rutgers
Tess Hackworthy, Wisconsin