Hall of Fame Award For Ebersol

FILE - In this May 9, 2018, file photo, Carolina Hurricanes owner and CEO Tom Dundon takes questions during an NHL hockey news conference in Raleigh, N.C. Dundon is investing $250 million in the Alliance of American Football. Dundon also will serve as chairman of the fledgling eight-team league that began play on Feb. 9. His involvement came together in a matter of days last week, according to Dundon and Alliance co-founder Charlie Ebersol, though Dundon had been monitoring the AAF's development and debut. Ebersol dismissed reports Tuesday, Feb. 19, 2019, that the Alliance was getting a financial bailout from Dundon. (AP Photo/Gerry Broome, File)

CANTON, Ohio (AP) -- Dick Ebersol has been selected as the 2019 recipient of the Pete Rozelle Radio-Television Award, which is presented annually by the Pro Football Hall of Fame.
The award recognizes "longtime exceptional contributions to radio and television in professional football."
Ebersol once was described as "the most powerful figure ever in sports TV." The longtime NBC Sports chairman will be honored during the 2019 enshrinement week in August when Champ Bailey, Pat Bowlen, Gil Brandt, Tony Gonzalez, Ty Law, Kevin Mawae, Ed Reed and Johnny Robinson are inducted into the Hall of Fame.
"Dick Ebersol's creativity, passion, business acumen, determination and leadership paved the way for extraordinary and innovative coverage of the NFL that resulted in enormous growth of viewership for this great game," Hall of Fame President and CEO David Baker said. "He is the epitome of the hall's values of commitment, integrity, courage, respect and excellence."

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus