Stricter law for drivers goes into effect Wednesday

Published: Feb. 13, 2019 at 4:26 AM EST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Michigan's Move Over Law requires drivers to slow down when passing police cars, ambulances and fire trucks that are stopped on the side of the road.

Just this week, there have been at least two instances in Michigan where state troopers have been hurt when other vehicles have hit their patrol vehicles parked on the side of the road.

Fortunately, none of the officers was seriously hurt.

Starting Wednesday, Michigan's Move Over Law requires Michigan drivers to move over and slow down for vehicles like tow trucks, garbage trucks, utility and other maintenance vehicles that are parked on the side of the road with their lights flashing.

Then-Gov. Rick Snyder signed the law in November, requiring drivers to slow down by at least 10 miles per hour below the posted speed limit, as well as moving over a lane if possible.

If a driver breaks this law, they could get a fine of up to $400. If the driver kills a first responder or maintenance crew, they could spend 15 years in prison.

State Police beef up patrols at least once a year to crack down on drivers that don't give a lane.

State Police say they've handed out hundreds of tickets for drivers not obeying the law when it covered only police and first responders.

Today is the first day of Michigan's amended Move Over Law... Drivers must slow to 10 mph below the posted speed...

Posted by Ingham County Sheriff's Office on Wednesday, February 13, 2019