News 10 named finalist for 2022 Station of the Year

The Michigan Association of Broadcasters (MAB) announced the winners and finalists for the 2022 MAB Broadcast Excellence Awards on Friday.
Published: Mar. 17, 2023 at 1:57 PM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

LANSING, Mich. (WILX) - WILX News 10 has been named a finalist for Station of the Year in Commercial Television Market 3 for the Michigan Association of Broadcasters’ Broadcast Excellence Awards.

The Michigan Association of Broadcasters (MAB) announced the winners and finalists on Friday. WILX is honored to be recognized in the following categories:

  • WINNER - Best Commercial, Ingham County Fair (Jason Kolokithas)
  • WINNER - Best Photojournalist, David Jones
  • WINNER - Best Special Interest Programming, From The Flight Deck, (Nicole Buchmann, Kellan Buddy, Steve Coon, Fred Heumann, Tim Staudt)
  • WINNER - Best Use of New Media (Single Project), News 10 Now Desk Election Night Special (Krystle Holleman and Seth Wells)
  • MERIT - Best News Anchor, Seth Wells
  • MERIT - Best News Reporter, Ann Emmerich
  • MERIT - Best Use of New Media (All-Encompassing), News 10 Now Desk
  • FINALIST - Breaking News Coverage, Body of Brendan Santo Found
  • FINALIST - Community Involvement, Make an Impact (Bronwyn Moisan and Jennifer Watkins)
  • FINALIST - Station of the Year, Commercial Television Market 3

“This is testament to the hard work our team puts in every day delivering local news, weather and sports,” said WILX News Director Mike Schram, “We are so proud to be recognized as the best station in the Lansing market.”

The Broadcast Excellence Awards Gala will be held April 29 at the Motor City Casino in Detroit. This is a new location for 2023 for what is now a red-carpet gala event, established by the Michigan Association of Broadcasters to recognize local television and radio stations.

“I’m most proud of winning the Community Involvement category for our year-long Make an Impact campaign that raised more than $250,000 in 2022 for local non-profits” said WILX General Manager Debbie Petersmark.

The winners of the Station of the Year will be announced at the Gala.

Subscribe to our News 10 newsletter and receive the latest local news and weather straight to your email every morning.