Women's Basketball To Host IUPUI In First Round Of Preseason WNIT

By  | 

EAST LANSING, Mich. - The Women's National Invitational Tournament (WNIT) committee has announced that Michigan State will host IUPUI in the first round of the Preseason WNIT on Friday, Nov. 9 at the Breslin Center. The 16-team tournament features a new format this fall, as it moves from a single elimination to a three-game guarantee.

IUPUI went 14-16 in 2006-07, falling in the semifinals of the Mid-Continent Conference Tournament. The Jaguars will return Mid-Con first-team selection and Defensive Player of the Year Jernisha Cann as well as adding six heralded recruits to a lineup that returns three of five starters for the 2007-08 campaign.

Second-round games of the WNIT will be played on Nov. 11-13, semifinals will be on Nov. 14-15, and the championship is scheduled for Sunday, Nov. 18. All games all played on home campuses, which are determined after each round. Teams that lose in the first two rounds will play consolation games on the second weekend, Nov. 16-17.

MSU will be competing in the event, which is in its 14th season, for the first time in program history. Nine of the 16 teams are coming off postseason play, including Delaware, Delaware State, East Tennessee State, LSU, Maryland, Michigan State, Notre Dame, TCU and Western Kentucky. The Spartans went 24-9 last season, finished third in the Big Ten with a 13-3 conference record, and advanced to the second round of the NCAA Tournament.

The Preseason WNIT invites up to one team per conference. Invitations are made based on expected team strength for the 2007-08 season, as well as past team history. Other factors include conference results, fan base, and geographical location. Nine of the teams will be playing in the Preseason WNIT for the first time in school history: Delaware State, East Tennessee State, IUPUI, LSU, Marshall, Michigan State, Princeton, Radford and Samford.

First-round Preseason WNIT games

Game Times TBA - All 2006-2007 team records in parentheses
Friday, Nov. 9, 2007
Princeton (13-15) at Maryland (28-6)
Delaware State (20-13) at Delaware (26-6)
East Tennessee State (20-12) at Western Kentucky (23-9)
Miami, Ohio (12-18) at Notre Dame (20-12)
Samford (18-13) at LSU (30-8)
Radford (20-10) at TCU (21-11)
Marshall (15-15) at Evansville (19-12)
IUPUI (14-16) at Michigan State

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus