Wooden Award Candidates Announced

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

LOS ANGELES (AP) -- Florida's Joakim Noah, Ohio State's Greg Oden, Wisconsin's Alando Tucker and UCLA's Arron Afflalo are among the 22 players on the ballot for the John R. Wooden Award as college basketball's player of the year.
Florida's Corey Brewer and Taurean Green joined Noah on the ballot Saturday, making the defending national champion Gators the only team with more than one candidate.
The winner will be announced April 7 at the Los Angeles Athletic Club.
Freshmen are on the ballot for the second time in the award's history, with Oden and Kevin Durant of Texas represented.
The other candidates are LSU's Glen Davis, Tennessee's Chris Lofton, North Carolina's Tyler Hansbrough, Nevada's Nick Fazekas, Oklahoma State's Mario Boggan, Oregon's Aaron Brooks, Boston College's Jared Dudley, Butler's A.J. Graves, Pittsburgh's Aaron Gray, Texas Tech's Jarrius Jackson, Texas A&M's Acie Law, Michigan State's Drew Neitzel, Kansas' Brandon Rush, Virginia's Sean Singletary, and Florida State's Al Thornton.
For the first time, fans can vote for the winner, with their votes counting as one ballot toward the final tally.

WILX.com is happy to provide a forum for commenting and discussion. Please respect and abide by the house rules:

Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge, and please suggest removal of comments that violate these standards. Comments may take up to 24 hours or longer to appear on the site.

See full commenting rules...
powered by Disqus
WILX 500 American Road Lansing, MI 48911 517-393-0110
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 6293132 - wilx.com/a?a=6293132
Gray Television, Inc.