Wooden Award Candidates Announced

By  | 

LOS ANGELES (AP) -- Florida's Joakim Noah, Ohio State's Greg Oden, Wisconsin's Alando Tucker and UCLA's Arron Afflalo are among the 22 players on the ballot for the John R. Wooden Award as college basketball's player of the year.
Florida's Corey Brewer and Taurean Green joined Noah on the ballot Saturday, making the defending national champion Gators the only team with more than one candidate.
The winner will be announced April 7 at the Los Angeles Athletic Club.
Freshmen are on the ballot for the second time in the award's history, with Oden and Kevin Durant of Texas represented.
The other candidates are LSU's Glen Davis, Tennessee's Chris Lofton, North Carolina's Tyler Hansbrough, Nevada's Nick Fazekas, Oklahoma State's Mario Boggan, Oregon's Aaron Brooks, Boston College's Jared Dudley, Butler's A.J. Graves, Pittsburgh's Aaron Gray, Texas Tech's Jarrius Jackson, Texas A&M's Acie Law, Michigan State's Drew Neitzel, Kansas' Brandon Rush, Virginia's Sean Singletary, and Florida State's Al Thornton.
For the first time, fans can vote for the winner, with their votes counting as one ballot toward the final tally.

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus