Tiger Named Rookie of the Year

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

Justin Verlander of the Detroit Tigers and Hanley Ramirez of the Florida Marlins are the American and National League Rookies of the Year.

In voting of the Baseball Writers of America, Ramirez, a shortstop, edged Washington's Ryan Zimmerman by just four points. Broken down Ramirez had 14 first place votes, eleven second place nods and two third place votes. Zimmerman, a third baseman, received ten first place votes, 16 second place votes and three third place votes.

Verlander, a right-hander, was a runaway winner in the American League over Boston pitcher Jonathan Papelbon.

WILX 500 American Road Lansing, MI 48911 517-393-0110
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 4631671 - wilx.com/a?a=4631671
Gray Television, Inc.