Jeff Petry named to CCHA All-Rookie team

By: Michigan State University
By: Michigan State University

EAST LANSING, Mich. -- Michigan State freshman defenseman Jeff Petry (Farmington Hills, Mich.) has been named to the CCHA All-Rookie Team, as announced by the conference office on Monday, March 10. Petry is one of seven first-year players in the league to make the rookie squad. Determined by a vote of the conference head coaches, the team will be honored at the 2008 CCHA Awards on Thursday, March 20, at the Fox Theatre in Detroit.

Petry is the 16th Spartan to earn All-Rookie honors and first since Jeff Lerg made the team in 2006. In addition, 23 MSU players have been honorable mention all-rookie picks, including current Spartans Justin Abdelkader and Tim Kennedy in 2006.

A standout blueliner, Petry finished second among rookie defensemen and ninth on his team with 16 points in 28 conference games. The Edmonton draft pick, who was USA Hockey’s Junior Hockey Player of the Year in 2007, finished with a +9 rating in the regular-season. Overall, he has a 3-17-20, and was named the CCHA Defensive Player of the Week on Feb. 25.

Petry was joined on the all-rookie team by Carter Camper (Miami), Max Pacioretty (Michigan), Jacob Cepis (Bowling Green), and Mark Olver (Northern Michigan) at forward; Erik Gustafsson of Northern Michigan; and goaltender Nick Eno from Bowling Green.

Petry and the Spartans open CCHA Tournament play this weekend at Munn Arena against Northern Michigan. is happy to provide a forum for commenting and discussion. Please respect and abide by the house rules:

Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge, and please suggest removal of comments that violate these standards. Comments may take up to 24 hours or longer to appear on the site.

See full commenting rules...
powered by Disqus
WILX 500 American Road Lansing, MI 48911 517-393-0110
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 16480026 -
Gray Television, Inc.