Alaska Senate Race Finally Certified

Sen. Lisa Murkowski has been certified the winner of Alaska's Senate race following a nearly two-month legal battle.
State officials on Thursday signed paperwork making her win over GOP rival Joe Miller official.
Murkowski becomes the first U.S. Senate candidate since Strom Thurmond in 1954 to win with a write-in campaign. Murkowski will be sworn in when Congress begins its new term next week.
Miller won the primary in August, prompting Murkowski to run for re-election as a write-in. Miller then sued the state over its handling of the race as Murkowski toppled him in the general election.
Three courts upheld election results favoring Murkowski, with a federal judge on Tuesday lifting a stay on certification that he'd imposed to give the courts time to rule on Miller's claims. is happy to provide a forum for commenting and discussion. Please respect and abide by the house rules:

Keep it clean, keep it civil, keep it truthful, stay on topic, be responsible, share your knowledge, and please suggest removal of comments that violate these standards. Comments may take up to 24 hours or longer to appear on the site.

See full commenting rules...
powered by Disqus
WILX 500 American Road Lansing, MI 48911 517-393-0110
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 112695539 -
Gray Television, Inc.