Snyder Names 12 People to Michigan Autism Council

By: Associated Press
By: Associated Press

LANSING, Mich. (AP) -- Gov. Rick Snyder has named 12 people to the newly created Autism Council within the state Department of Community Health.
The governor's office issued an order Thursday's order creating the council as a step to implement Michigan's Autism Spectrum Disorders State Plan.
On Tuesday, Snyder announced his appointments to the council.
The members are Mary Chaliman of Holt, Kimberley Gaedeke of Plymouth, Elizabeth Knisely of Plymouth, Joanne Winkelman of Bloomfield Township, Michael Caine of Lansing, Anthony Ianni of East Lansing, Amy Matthews of Grand Haven, Robert Sheehan of Lansing, Colleen Allen of Detroit, R. Wayne Fuqua of Kalamazoo, Stacie Rulison of St. Johns and Jane Turner of East Lansing.
Snyder and Lt. Gov. Brian Calley pushed for passage of a mandate for insurance coverage for autism treatment for children.

You must be logged in to post comments.

Password (case sensitive):
Remember Me:

Read Comments

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station.
  • by Heidi Location: Walled Lake on Jul 4, 2012 at 06:49 AM
    Something to think about. Colleen Allen has publicly stated that the CDC lied about the autism numbers(the number is really not that high), families with autism should never try special diets, and maybe our children don't sleep because they might not need much sleep(apparently 4 hours a night for a four year old is OK). This is appalling to parents who have seen GREAT improvements through dietary interventions! My son did not speak his first sentence until we implemented a special diet! I have been an autism advocate for 7 years and have spoken nationally to thousands of families who are healing their children through diets, nutrition therapy, and various biomedical treatments. Many have recovered their children and as a result, the children are now in mainstream classrooms without needing tax payer dollars for special services. I have never seen, heard of, or met a child that recovered by way of ABA, speech, or OT alone! Our children cannot fully recover until their body's are healed!
  • by Ah ha on Jul 4, 2012 at 05:34 AM
    Double standards...we want less government..unless.. You are the Lt governor and you have an autistic child and lots of rich friends. Children of the poor can't get food, or housing on the govt dime. But the rich and well connected, who can afforde the expense of a disabled child get help beyond their wildest dreams. Thank you snyder. Once again the rich win and connected get extra portion of the pie!
WILX 500 American Road Lansing, MI 48911 517-393-0110
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 161293915 -
Gray Television, Inc.