"About 80 percent of youth smokers will smoke into adulthood, according to a U.S. Surgeon General's report."
Michigan lawmakers are looking to increase fines levied on teens who use tobacco and stores that sell it to them.
A bill approved 37-0 Thursday by the state Senate would raise the fine for an initial violation from $50 to $100. Further violations could cost $500 per violation.
The $50 fine has not been raised in at least 25 years.
Supporters say increasing fines sends a message that smoking by minors under age 18 is unacceptable. About 80 percent of youth smokers will smoke into adulthood, according to a U.S. Surgeon General's report.
Michigan law now prohibits selling, giving or furnishing a tobacco product to a minor. Minors also cannot buy or possess tobacco or use it in a public place.
The legislation now heads to the House.
Viewers with disabilities can get assistance accessing this station's FCC Public Inspection File by contacting the station with the information listed below. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, 888-835-5322 (TTY), or email@example.com.