LANSING, Mich. (AP) -- State officials say a new law taking effect Sunday in Michigan is aimed at first-time offenders who get behind the wheel after drinking excessively.
The Lansing State Journal reports that the new so-called "super-drunk" law is intended to reduce the roughly 45,000 drunken driving arrests Michigan sees each year.
One provision creates a new class of blood-alcohol content of 0.17 percent or higher for serious first-time offenders. That's about twice the minimum of 0.08 percent now required for a drunken driving conviction.
Those convicted of the higher blood-alcohol level will get an automatic one year driver's license suspension and up to 180 days in jail.
Republican State Sen. Alan Cropsey of DeWitt says people who get "super-drunk" are "exceptionally dangerous" drivers.
Viewers with disabilities can get assistance accessing this station's FCC Public Inspection File by contacting the station with the information listed below. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, 888-835-5322 (TTY), or firstname.lastname@example.org.