Seventh Congressional District

By: Aaron Baskerville
By: Aaron Baskerville

Michigan's Seventh Congressional District is home to five entire counties and most of two others.

The counties that make-up the district are the entire counties of Eaton, Branch, Lenawee, Jackson, Hillsdale, and most of Washtenaw and Calhoun counties.

Agriculture accounts for less than two percent of the industry in the district. Manufacturing and education and health services lead the way. According to the U.S. Census Bureau (2000), the median household income is $45,181 and 7.9 percent live below the poverty line.

Jackson is the second largest city in the district behind Battle Creek and is known as the birthplace of the Republican Party. Residents traditionally vote Republican, but political analysts say the area is changing.

They say the seat has a republican base of about 55-56 percent, not overwhelmingly Republican.

WILX 500 American Road Lansing, MI 48911 517-393-0110
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 859537 -
Gray Television, Inc.