Seventh Congressional District

By  | 

Michigan's Seventh Congressional District is home to five entire counties and most of two others.

The counties that make-up the district are the entire counties of Eaton, Branch, Lenawee, Jackson, Hillsdale, and most of Washtenaw and Calhoun counties.

Agriculture accounts for less than two percent of the industry in the district. Manufacturing and education and health services lead the way. According to the U.S. Census Bureau (2000), the median household income is $45,181 and 7.9 percent live below the poverty line.

Jackson is the second largest city in the district behind Battle Creek and is known as the birthplace of the Republican Party. Residents traditionally vote Republican, but political analysts say the area is changing.

They say the seat has a republican base of about 55-56 percent, not overwhelmingly Republican.