Insurance companies say Michigan motorists could save at least ten percent on their insurance bill if they were allowed to choose less medical coverage for being hurt in accidents.
Michigan is the only state to require unlimited personal injury protection benefits, which policyholders pay for through a $123 annual fee per vehicle.
Insurance companies say the state's auto no-fault law should be changed by letting policyholders choose limited medical coverage, starting at a $50,000 cap and going up from there.
Bipartisan bills in the state House would let motorists choose a level of medical coverage.
Viewers with disabilities can get assistance accessing this station's FCC Public Inspection File by contacting the station with the information listed below. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, 888-835-5322 (TTY), or firstname.lastname@example.org.