Governor Declares Disaster

Ingham, Jackson, Ionia and Livingston are among 24 Michigan counties that Governor Jennifer Granholm has declared disaster areas.

The declaration comes following last month's heavy storms. Heavy rains lead to severe flooding and was to blame for at least four deaths.

Under the declaration, the State Police Emergency Management will use its resources to assist local governments in recovery efforts.