It's Official: Kerry Wins Michigan

By  | 

The 17 electors gave John Kerry and John Edwards their votes as Michigan's Electoral College met in the sate Senate chamber Monday.

The hour-long ceremony featured speeches by Gov. Jennifer Granholm and U.S. Sen. Debbie Stabenow.

Michigan Democratic Party Executive Chairman Mark Brewer said it is the first time in Michigan's history that Democrats have won four presidential elections in a row.

Michigan voters went for Bill Clinton in 1992 and 1996 and for Al Gore in 2000.

A joint session of Congress is expected to count the electoral votes on Jan. 6.